Question about CFLs from a 1st timer.

Hi All,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to all of this. 12 years of chronic pain and a charming (but unrelated) medical diagnonsense saw me turn to green about a decade ago and I haven't looked back - it's probably what has kept me alive.

Anyway, my regular supplier went out of business recently (without any notice :( ) so I'm trying my hand at growing for the first time. I've had a LOT of very confusing conversations with a variety of people (Bunnings, hydro stores, even Kmart!) with silly codewords about how I'm growing tomatoes or herbs. ;)

I've managed to get most of it sorted - I think - and have recently planted a seed. I'm using coco coir with perlite mixed in, and I'm playing mad scientist in the kitchen with PHing water. (PH down + bicarb soda + lemon = finally got the right range of 5.5-6.5)

I'm still completely baffled about lights, though. Everything I've read on growweedeasy.com suggests that I can use regular CFLs from a hardware store. So, after another trip to Bunnings, I invested in some globes and a few lamps and have got, what I thought, was a good setup going.

The problem is that two different hydro stores have blown my mind a bit when discussing 'grow lights'. One guy showed me a bulb that was about 30cms long! Not very stealthy, I thought... (And a bit more than I want to pay for something that might not work at this stage.)

So I'm now a bit concerned that my poor seed is freezing to death and not likely to grow under the 24w (Similar to 100w) Philips 'Cool Daylight' globe that the Bunnings guy sold me for my 'tomatoes'. It was the closest that I could find to what I'd seen on the net... but I'm wondering if there's something else I should be using? The only requirement is that it's easy to install/maintain - I'm not in a position to start wiring additional light sockets throughout  the house.

Thanks in advance for any tips!