Brainstorm: How can we push legalisation?

This may have been posted before, but oh well :toke:

Little background... I'm a noob smoker, only started recreational use a few months back (I'm 19). I was totally against marijuana use all the way up until a few months ago until a mate of mine slowly convinced me that it's mostly just propaganda. He pointed me to some websites (erowid, norml etc), I checked them out, had a look at some of the references and I was sold.

So now I'm in the same vote as most of you on here thinking whytfh is it illegal at all?

I've been checking out a lot of forums, blogs and other sites around the issue of legalisation. People seem to be doing some things to push the subject, but I get the feeling that it's not doing anything at all.

I think Australia is probably the most suited, developed country to start a domino effect for marijuana legalisation.

So let's brainstorm some big ideas on how we can get the law-makers to make some changes.

:peace:

Possible idea...

Do we have a Cannabis political party in Australia like they do in the US?

I noticed Kevin Rudd has been recently putting a lot of effort into announcing his religious beliefs, and specifically chasing religious votes after the Family First party snapped up a lot of them last elections. (which on an un-related note I think is stupid and religion and politics is dangerous shit)

But perhaps if a Cannabis party was setup and a well-thought campaign was run, if they secured a lot of votes then maybe the bigger parties might take a look at how they can please the Cannabis voters.

Hey treelovinhippie, I think i can answer a couple of questions. Its great that you want to change. All the best.

Do we have a Cannabis political party in Australia like they do in the US?

We used to have the marijuana party. We used to have a branch of NORML i think. I dont think either of these exist anymore.