What light is this? MH? HPS? or?

Hi

I just signed up to the site and firstly want to say thanks to all the members as this website is an awesome read and a great help for me. I will be spending alot of time over the next month just reading past grow diaries and details on indoor growing as i am new to this.

I bought this light a year ago at an auction to use for portable shed lighting but i was wondering if its possible to use it for growing plants indoors. The casing of the light has no information on what type of light it is and i thought maybe a member here would be able to tell me. Also is there any way to find out the wattage as i cant find those details either. Any info you can give would be great.

Thanks

post-10877-1161966253_thumb.jpgpost-10877-1161966278_thumb.jpgpost-10877-1161966302_thumb.jpg[at

tachment=17667:attachment]

post-10877-1161966956_thumb.jpg

post-10877-1161966320_thumb.jpg

Heya Farang, welcome aboard mate

Pretty sure that light is a MH but its unusual not to have markings on the casing or at least the bulb?? , we have those lights where i work and they are marked MH 250W on the ballast housing. Someone else might know more.

You'd probably be better off getting a light with a remote ballast (ballast and light fitting seperate) to remove the ballast heat from your grow room, but check out the forums and diaries like your thinkin and decide for yourself, thats half the fun!

hey there farang

welcome to the site lad hope ya enjoy ya stay

what it looks like ya got there is definatly a MH i recon but the wattage could be anything but looks to be 250w imo really weird that it dont have anything on the globe though