Potential outcome of legalization?

I'm interested in what people think would happen if cannabis became legal, either fully or partially.

Partially, as in for medicinal purposes.

Would it become an agricultural commodity ?

On face value it would be a positive step.

But just curious as to what everyone thinks about issues such as supply, genetics and price.

Might it be so regulated that people revert back to illegal growing to bypass red tape.

A lot of people might not grow their own and still purchase from others. Would that be from  you and me, or a large scale operation. If everyone had a crack, there may be a LOT of male plants doing there thing. Right next door to you.

I am a farmer and am interested in all crops (to some degree)

A plus for hemp surely, but that is a case in point. You can grow that now, but with the regulations and the expense that goes with government interference.

All opinions welcome.

Thank you

Cant see it being a good thing in this country myself . Cant see it happening in australia anyway .

Look at tabacco , in australia i would  be in far deeper shit for growing tabacco then if i grow cannabis .

If it is legalized and regulated it will be heavly taxed and poeple caught growing without gov permission will be in far deeper shit then if they where caught growing it when it was illegal .

I just hope one day it is decriminalized , imo that is the best we can hope for in this backward country .

• Upvote 2

We're not as backward as we assume.

We do have legal hemp being grown in our country, there is a company in FNQ currently producing hemp products for sale here and overseas, but the main concern with cannabis is social impact.