G'day,

I'm in the middle of setting up a smaller grow box to house some clones while my main grow is still going in the larger one.

I can't seem to work out how to wire the lighting up though (or if it's even possible in the way I want). A general extension cord only has three wires (live, neutral, and ground). The light fitting seems to have four places for cable to run, the only ones marked are earth and loop (I've included an image of this).

I've searched around trying to find a wiring diagram or something for Australian sockets but can't seem to find anything. I know the basics but I'm no electrician, but that said I don't know of any sparkys that I trust enough to say "can you come wire up my grow box?".

For those that use these fittings or small CFLs in general, is there a way to do this, or am I better off buying a lamp and stripping it down to the wire and ballast? Or is there an even easier way to do this that I'm not aware of?

Thanks. :)

post-44032-0-09917900-1326526898_thumb.jpg

tell you what I'll do, cuz no bastards pissed me off today... I'll take a few pics of how I wired up the same battens.

Gimme ten then I'll edit this post.

Right On, what you are seeing is the base of one them HPM bulb batten holder doohickeys.

the wire coming from the left is the input (from the mains), then the wire running off to the right powers the next bulb. In this picture, the hole on the right is the E, and the hole on the left is loop.

As you noticed, I did not use E or loop, simply the positive and negative. Now, I'm fairly sure it doesnt matter which hole you put in pos and neg, but if you get electricolocuted, it wasn't my fault.

For the record, my negative, in this picture, is the bottom hole.

post-41873-0-79560200-1326596211_thumb.jpg

Edited by STONEDAJ69

Thanks AJ.