'The Bubbling Barrel'

tabbycat

My mission here is to post a step-by-step instructional on putting together a basic DWC system. This system, although a little different than conventional systems, can be adapted to suit all types of DWC. I am no expert, just love this shit and wanted to get a thread started. After it's been put together, i'll wack a clone in her and see how she goes lol Eventually hope to run the system with a control reservoir and recirculating. Any suggestions on fittings to connect one res. to another much appreciated.

Here we have 'the Barrel' (390x330x580mm, approx. 75 Litres). I saw these at a swap meet and grabbed a couple @ $10 each. Sorry no idea where you can get these, looks ex-food type container. Alternatives might be the food grade white buckets restaurants often use or ex food containers (all these are of a high grade plastic). Try a rural co-op or buying store. Have no other suggestions at this stage sorry ;) .

post-9-1066563533_thumb.jpg

So i'll use this adjustable hole-cutting gizmo (Bunnings - pretty exxie if i remember correctly) to cut the hole in the lid for the net-pot to sit in. Please make sure you cut inside of your template line or the pot will fall through (approx 2-3mm in this case leaving an overall hole diameter of 135mm. lol

post-9-1066564328_thumb.jpg

Using my cordless with hole-cutting gizmo to cut the hole. It's a pretty wobbly ol' tool to use but does a pretty clean job lol . Cut the required hole half way through the thickness of the lid and then turn over. IME if you are cutting a hole in a brittle plastic lid do it very carefully and with something to support the lid underneath while drilling. Have fucked a couple of lids with this tool. There are other ways - i think someone here mentioned using a hot knife. :mellow:

post-9-1066564773_thumb.jpg