Tools of the trade ? What do i need ?

I have a Ph tester for my aquarium but i don't trust its accuracy. I'm new to hydroponics and needing to buy some tools of the trade if you could buy anything what would you suggest ?

I was looking on ebay and i noticed this Ph Tester but i'm not sure if the applications right ? I'm thinking of setting up a bottle co2 injection system later on which this looks like it might

integrate in nicely, but besides ph is there anything else i should be testing for and keeping my eye on ?

Cheers !

Edited by Fate

Best advice i can give is to read through some of the grow diarys and get an idea on how things are done and what is needed.

The diarys should give you all the answers you need to start up growing.

Another lil bit of advice if that pic is you mite be a good idea to change it, it could be used to find out who you are...

PH and EC are 2 very important factors, the ec is to make sure ur feeding them enough nutes and not too much without doin any damage, also good for checking ya runoff too.....and ph is important because if the ph out, the plant wont absorb what it needs to keep healthy.

When buying equipment, like anything else you get what ya pay for ay....so might hurt at 1st, but knowing you have the correct and reliable tools for the job is good peace of mind. And 2 other great things to have onside is common sense and patients mate, even if ya 1st grow dont blow ya mind or meet up to your high expectations, keep at it make, follow the basic fundamentals of growing and you'll be laughin....

Cheers KB

• Upvote 1

hey guys and girls would like to add when buying ph meters and ec ppm meter buy the good brand i bought a el cheapo off ebay last year and today i went and bought a blue lab meter for $95 from$135 and i done the test in my tank and the cheapo reading was .8 ec and blue labs was 1.2 so there you have it never cheap out it will cost you lots of $$ in the long run :bongon:

Lights.... preferbably HID