My first hydro set-up...need advice

Chev

Hi everyone,

I'm new to ozstoners, I'm a Perth Gal. I've said hello to a couple of you already, and thanks to Luke Skywalker. Your pages on recirculating hydro set-up were priceless to me while I was trying to get my shit together!! :P I'm going to begin regular posts from tomorrow, and I'll be posting digital pics up (Thank god! Hate webcams) after I get my camera tomorrow. My babies are on the GO! I managed to score White Widow clones (my favourite!), 8 weeks old and ready to turn. I have a 2 pot set-up under a 400 watt Metal Halide, in a big, old wooden wardrobe. The double door type with a bit of wood between the doors, sturdy! Painted the inside with flat white plastic, bored 5 x 25cm round holes in the bottom of the wardrobe, and then 5 on the bottom of the outside. The wardrobe is hollow underneath, perfect for my ventilation system! Installed an exhaust fan at the top left hand side, and it sucks the air up and through my plants. You can see them through the fan, they move as if their in a nice, gentle breeze. My room has been light-proofed, and I live on a corner block with both back neighbours that smoke and grow, so at least I won't get dobbed in if there is any smell (I doubt it though). I am using Dutchmaster One, a 2 part veg'n'bloom, in an 80 litre light proof tank. I am using 30 litres of water in my reservoir, but tell me if it doesn't sound right. I have a 550 L P/H pump with 1.3 metre head attached to 13 mm polypipe. I made 13mm watering rings with 6mm feed lines, and used 19 mm for the drainage back to my reservoir. I have my pots up on bricks, cause my light isn't adjustable. I'm using expanded clay for my medium.