Questions on second hand lights

G'day!

I just went to the markets where I bought 2 second hand horticultural lights.

For $60, I got 2 x SuperNova 600 reflector hoods, 2 x 400W MH ballasts, and 1 x 400W HPS ballast.

Now I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to these lighting systems (I have only previously used compact fluros with pretty crap results), so I was hoping some more knowledgeable people here would be able to please help me out.

Are these reflectors compatible with the ballasts? They are called SuperNova 600 so I assumed that meant 600W (the bulb socket says 1500W 600V) but the ballasts are all 400W. If not, what kind of ballasts should I buy to match the reflector?

If they are compatible, should I be buying 400W bulbs? And which 2 out of the 3 ballasts should I use? Two of them also seem to have loose parts inside, should I be worried about this?

I had planned on just buying a complete lighting set from the hydro shop, but I saw these for $60 and thought it was a bargain.

Any advice is greatly apprecaited, as I am confused and don't really know what to do. I'm not sure if I have 400W lights or 600W lights or if I need to buy new gear or what :thumbsup:

Cheers!

first off a reflector is merely a bit of metal that usually, but not always holds the light socket in place. regardless of how big, small or the ratings on it, you should be able to connect up any light that fits in it.

now as you only have 400w ballasts, that means you can only use 400w globes. i dont think i would be game to use the ballasts that have moving parts inside of them, but if you score yourself a 400w mh and 400w hps globes, you should be able to test all 3 ballasts out and make sure they fire up. you should look on ebay for really cheap globes imo, they will do the job and there is no point in spending big bucks on brand new globes if the ballasts are just going to blow them up :thumbdown: