bubbler grow diary

A few people have asked me to put together a bubbler grow diary, from construction to finished crop, so here it is. Fingers crossed that I actually make it to a finished crop to complete this thread. :D

If its not already obvious I just want to highlight the fact that I am a newbie grower and have kinda just jumped into this, so please don't assume the way I'm doing things is the best way, and I hope experienced growers will chime in with their input where needed.

So to start a bubbler is basically a bucket, usually 15 to 20 litres. It has an airpump connected to an airstone in the bottom of the bucket and a net pot with clay balls in the lid. The nute solution is filled up to about the bottom of the net pot and the roots grow through and sit in the bubbling solution. The net pot with clay balls is mainly just to support the plant. This has the reputation as being one of the fastest hydro grow methods around, and is pretty simple.

I used an aero cloner to prepare clones for my bubbler and will stick to this method. Its good because once they root in the aero cloner you can leave them there in a weak nute solution and let the roots grow out. usually with bubblers you need to water from the top until the roots grow down into the solution. But with clones with long roots this isn't necessary, as they can reach the solution from Day 1. You can check out my aero cloner in this thread.

post-9-1054723097_thumb.jpg

Edited by pipeman

For the buckets I used 20L hobby boxes from K-Mart or Target, about $5 each from memory. To make light proof I wrapped them in black PVC duct tape. One roll easily did two boxes & lids.

To cut the holes in lids for the netpots I used a knife heated up with a blowtorch lighter. It cut like a hot knife through plastic :D

post-9-1054724209_thumb.jpg