Does size matter?

I'm a newbie that has just finished my first grow, and am kind of curious as to your thoughts on the following subject.

It says in the "Complete guide to growing marijuana" and I quote

It's not the size of the plant, but the maturity and quality of the product that counts.

True, but I think the size of the plant, and more importantly the size of the buds directly effects the quality of the product. For the simple reason that a larger bud has less surface area than an equal proportion of smaller buds. Less surface area means less trichome loss through transport, and contact with bags.

Like I said I am a newbie to growing but am an experienced user and along the way have found larger buds do last longer than an equal amount of smaller ones.

:scratchin :scratchin :scratchin

It's not the size of the plant, but the maturity and quality of the product that counts.

yep that sums it up acuratly, epecially when it comes to hydro which is generally better with smaller ( compared to outdoors ) plants and buds, a little nugget can be just as potent as a bud the size of your arm, possibly better from what ive grown, bigger buds have more stem and are harder to dry and cure properly which can make or break the best smoke, i usually trim my big buds down to nugs for convieniece

i usually trim my big buds down to nugs for convieniece

Do you ever notice all the trichomes that you've knocked off the buds as your doing it?

I guess what I'm trying to say is that a larger bud protects the crystals better than a small bud.

Like when u rip a bud open the crystals are a lot more dense in the middle than on the surface, and a larger bud has a lot more guts.