Nutrients for soil. How long till I can start?

Slotty2

Hey all!

So my babies have popped! My plan is to start them off at 1/4 strength organic nutrients and then go 1/2 and then full strength over a period of weeks.

They will be grown in a premium potting mix outdoors.

When I say 1/4 strength I mean 1/4 of whatever the product recommends for its dilution...

Thanks all for your help! lol

Edited by Rufes1

Hi Rufes,

For my babies I didn't fertilize for the first 5 days after the sprouted.

After this I started with nutes at 1/6th strength, I'm using Dutch Master Advanced A+B.

If you really want to start feeding them I reccommend foliar-feeding initially (using a water-sprayer to spray them lightly with nutes) - my plants seem to love this.

The above method worked for me, but remember I'm still a newbie so I may not be providing the best advice (the blind leading the blind?) lol

-- Eikel.

they grow like fuck when you starve them first off, in my experience

thats spot on there, the plants will grow faster with less nutes. infact something I do if I get a sativa dom plant is to have the nutes as high as they can go without burning them.

it slows them down and shortens the internodes.

So less feed equals faster growth, more feed is slower growth but higher yeilds.

its osmosis at work,

Im the same when I grow in soil, I dont feed them until the plants just start to show nutrient deficiencies. then I start on 1/4 feeds.

alot of potting mixes etc have enough nutrients in them to last 6 to 8 months. so you may never need to feed them nutes.

I would however buy some seasol and use that on the plants starting at 1/4 strenght.

its a booster kinda like superthrive etc but organic.

the same mob makes ferts too called power feed, but ive generally just used fish emulsion and blood and bone.

:thumbsup

Ahhh miracle grow...

hmmm

On another note, just transplanted them across and they seem to be liking their new location!