ballast problems

Hi everyone,

I just bought a 2nd hand grow light setup up, and the first time i plugged it in everything went wonderfully, massive amounts of light etc etc. However, since then whenever I plug it in, I get a loud and scary crackling coming from the ballast, and the bulb will not light up.

I'm no electrician, so my best guess is "there is something wrong with the heavy boxy bit".

Anyone able to help me out?

Thanks!

hey man,

is that a clicking sound that don't stop, it just keeps clicking over an over???

If it is than its something wrong with the bulb or lamp-holder and cord, not the ballast.

Take the whole thing into your hydro store and have them run it with different lamp, bulb, different ballast, they'll fix it up for you. Better to be safe than sorry man, I wouldn't attempt rewiring it or putting a new ballast in myself, all sounds a bit dangerous to me, I wouldn't trust myself with appliances that good. maybe your alot smarter than me though :D

Thanks for replying so fast, ahhh the wonders of the internet!

Well I considered that the cable might be dodgy, since it's been lengthened quite un-expertly through the use of scissors and black insulation tape...

I don't have the thing here to analyse it further, I've left it at my friends house (with the instructions of "Don't touch it I don't want you to get zapped"). I would take it to a hydro shop, but there isn't one around my area that I know of, or even in the state, which kind of sucks! I'll have a search right now.

And I definitely won't be trying to repair it myself, I'm not smart, I'm dumb as a stump :D

Thanks for your help mate!

Guest Wilderbud