DWC / BUBBLERS

TUGBOAT

G'day peoples,

Getting ready to put together a small bubbler set-up, (couple of tubs) in a fairly small space (1.2m X 0.5m). Been doing a bit of reading on the boards and it seems everyone has a reservoir & control bucket set-up. Is this purely for ease of maintenance with respect to topping up water and nute levels or does it serve another purpose?

I'm new to bringing the garden indoors and am trying to keep it simple (Because (a) it's my first indoor gardening excursion and (:P I have limited space). I am wondering if the res & control bucket are necessary. The how-to's i've seen around about constructing a bubbler would indicate they are independent units.

Overgrow article (DWC Bubbling bucket)

Is anyone running a bucket like this or is it too much of a pain in the arse to top up and change the nute solution without a res & control bucket?

Love to hear from anyone indulging in a bit of aqua-culture.

Cheers :D :o

you will find that your roots will fill out inside your bucket pretty fast. If you don't have a control bucket you need to be lifting your plants out with this big root mass to check PH, do water changes etc and it gets real awkward. for a bit of pipe and an extra bucket you make your life so much easier. also, the roots will be solid to the sides of the bucket and may wrap atround the airline and airstone, so you could damage them by lifing them out all the time. better to have your control bucket outside your cupboard. no wasted grow space and you can do checks/water changes in dark cycle during flower with no hassles.

in terms of res. and float valve into your control bucket nah you don't need it. it just makes system a bit more automated and water level constant. but, there is nothing wrong with just topping up manually from your control bucket evefy day, or two, or three. you can let you water level get pretty low in bubblers before topping up without causing any real problems.