Why is cannabis illegal?

I'm new to the cannabis scene but do find it fascinating, not only as a substance but also the botany behind it and how you can have so many strains of the same plant by harvesting it differently. Just thought I'd ask you guys why you think its illegal? I mean I compare it to tobacco/alcohol that cause death, destruction, chaos in some cases and the fact that alcohol is scientifically linked to liver problems - not to mention lung, cancer and overall health problems tobacco causes (and is proven). Yet there are no studies of cannabis causing death, liver problems, its never been successfully linked to lung/cancer issues from what I've read and not only that it also has a lot of health benefits while tobacco/alcohol have none. One fact that springs to mind was something about the air ways to the lungs, tobacco smoke contracts them and can be permanent over time but somehow smoking cannibis can actually expand them allowing more oxygen to flow through ..(and MJ :D).

So why is cannabis such a taboo subject in politics/laws? And for conversation sake is it ever prescribed medically in Australia?

because death and destruction equals money. Cannabis heals. Alcohol is such a stupid, mind numbing, destructive drug which does nothing for ones mind, body and soul. Anyone can grow it so its too had to tax. More money is made off its prohibition, than what could/would be if it was taxed. If the truth was ever to be told about cannabis there would be a lot of red faces. I am sure I got more.