Is this normal?

hello everyone,

Im no professional grower but i love the plants and decided id have a go at raising my own harvest. first attempt failed, mainly because I used winter sunlight, a plastic cup with dirty soil from the garden and it died after 3 weeks. :bongon:.

but anyway, second go i tried a bit harder with decent soil, fertiliser, seedling trays, fluoro lights, timers, clean water and drainage.

I raised 6, picked the best two and gave the rest away.

that was 2 weeks ago, now I have two plants left. they look nice and healthy, but after looking around online iv seen peoples soil grow diaries with plants that are 3x the size of mine grown in the same time period.

One plant is twice the size of the other - is this normal? the big one is dark green, the small one is real lime green, completely different. i assume this is a different strain and maybe the size difference is strictly genetic. i shall stick it out and see if it levels.

the plants have been no more or less than 2 inches from the lights from birth.

they are on a 24 hour light cycle.

they are watered every couple of days.

so, the grand question - is this a healthy seedling/plant?

http://i876.photobucket.com/albums/ab322/antdoyle/DSCF7191.jpg

this is 2.5 weeks after seedling - it took around 4 days to grow to about 3.5 inches, 2 days to sprout leaves and point upwards, and 2.5 weeks to get to that.

it has two 80watt cool white fluoro tubes above, and a small 50 watt CFL bulb shining from below to reach the undersides of the leaves.

is this the right thing to do? the correct lights and light cycles? should i water more/less, and do you have any more tips?

thanks in advance:)

My computer would not touch the pic sorry, but it is an obstinate thing, so problem is probably here.

24 hour light is fine, cannabis does not need a dark cycle to function in veg. Try and get a warm colured tube to go with the hard white, more spectrums the better.