Shoot is not growing, it's curling

Hi,

one of my shoots is curling over and not facing up, and it hasn't grown at all since yesterday unlike the other 2 that have germinated. it's my first time so i don't really know what to do. yesterday i thought the seed was too exposed because i didn't bury it deep enough, so i put a bit of soil on it to protect it, but not on the shoot. and nothing has changed since then.

any ideas?

thanks,

max

hard to say without seeing the offending plant max, but sometimes fiddling too much with new born seeds can stop them advancing, nevertheless you sometimes have to very gently help the newborns along

also the new shoot from the seed must have enuf strength to throw off the seed coat and the skin-like shroud that encases the embryo seedling, so maybe yours wont stand up straight now cause that shroud is keeping the seedling bent over and prevents the plant from standing up and opening its 1st leaves?

:)

Thanks for the replies fellas, I think it's still too small and delicate to be propped up by anything. When I covered the exposed seed with a bit of soil, the shoot had already been curled for a day or two, so I thought that would help it out. I've attached a pic, it's nice and green still, but doesn't seem to want to grow up. I don't think he/she will make it. :)

Would transferring it to a softer soil help?

post-38758-1273152156_thumb.jpg

Edited by ganjamax

yea Jimbo the 'limp wrist' seedlings you mean when their stem kinda shriveles up collapses and they die quick, is that what you mean

cause i get that sometimes and ive never known why they did that?

:)

Post-emergent damping off. Can be caused by a variety of different seed and soil fungi including Rhizoctonia solani, Aphanomyces cochlioides, and species of Botrytis, Diplodia, Fusarium, Pythium, Cylindrocladium, Phytophthora, Alternaria and Phoma.