Calea Propagation

In this post I will demonstrate how to propagate Calea from cuttings.

To be honest taking cuttings is a pretty simple process that most of you may already know how to do.

However, there are a few do's and don'ts that do differ from the average method that will give you a better success rate.

As you may already know I have been working with this plant for a while now. When I first started taking cuttings I had a terrible success rate of about 50% with some simple self taught rules, I now achieve a 90% - 100% success rate.

That's enough talk, now on with the process.

Things you will need at hand:

Secateurs, Rooting Gel (not powder) and a trusty stick for poking holes.

post-32429-1270102595_thumb.jpg

Tubestock filled with rich compost.

post-32429-1270102550_thumb.jpg

Watering can filled with rain water (don't forget to have at least one dog watching you throughout this entire process, if you don't own one, borrow/steal one).

post-32429-1270102575_thumb.jpg

Cuttings.

post-32429-1270102644_thumb.jpg

Before you proceed any further you must abide by this rule.

Calea is very easily crushed about its newest growth, you will not feel or even notice that you have mishandled it for about another week as you watch in horror as those precious little cuttings go black and die.

Therefor the proper handling technique must be followed for great success.

Gently hold your cutting by the thickest part of the stem, then proceed to strip it as demonstrated below.

At no point handle the new growth or it will surely die.

post-32429-1270102725_thumb.jpg

Begin by cutting off the bottom two rows of leaves from your cuttings, do not pluck them off, calea is fragile.

I highly recommend whenever possible that you allow for two nodes in the ground and one node above the ground.

Below is the end result.

post-32429-1270102664_thumb.jpg