When to put seedling in direct sunlight?

Hello.

My seedlings had grown above the surface for 4 days and I decided to place them in direct sunlight.

I noticed within a few hours, 2 of them had "collapsed" and totally fallen over onto the soil.

I immediately removed them from the sun (it is 40c today here in Adelaide) and gave them water. One of the damaged seedlings is standing up again by itself (just) and the other one I have supported via a small stick and some string.

How long after raising above the soil should they be ready to be placed in the harsh Australian summer sun? I was thinking of trying again in another 10 days, which would be +14 days after they pocked through the surface of the soil.

Any advice would be very appreciated- I am totally new to this, but I need to get another 20 seedlings going in the next 2 weeks!

yea thats a bummer aye ... see problem is cause they are so young they havent developed a decent root network capable of supporting themselves in such extreme heat , remember in the wild they naturally pop up in the mild spring weather

so now i would give them a few days until they have 2-3 sets of leaves before full day's exposure

if you have the time you could slowly expose them to direct sunlight in small doses like from 6am till 10am and again from 4pm till 8pm, each day incresing the exposure by an extra hour each day

on the 40 degree day it might pay to have some 50% shadecloth directly overhead shading them for the hours from 12 noon till 4pm (or just in shady situation) but only on the 40 degree days or they will stretch too much

when temps get back down in the 30s there shouldnt be a problem, its just the combination of 40 deg. , tender babies and not sufficient root system that caused this hiccup

once they have a good root system it should be direct sun all the time and keep the water up to them even if it means pot sitting in a saucer of water