A few questions - Heat or Nutrients? Size? Time to show change?

Hi,

I have grown plants outdoors in the past where i have done quite well - 6 pound from 2 plants - (NOT bullshit these were by far the biggest plants i have ever seen and was stunned by them myself) but this is my first time growing indoors and i have a few questions.

Details of current growing

I am growing in a cupboard - coz i dont have a room available and im not a stupid grower (making rooms in my house disappear). I have bought a cupboard to grow them in which is 2m tall, 1.5 across, 750mm wide (wardrobe).

I have 2x 400w sodium vapour lights in the cupboard (i know these are for flowering not for growing but its what ive got)

I have installed fans for in take and out take of air to provide ventilation.

At first my ventilation was not great as i did not have the in take ventilation done properly, but this has now been done properly.

I do not have them running on an irigation watering cycle.

They are planted in potting soil and i water them by hand with them draining into pots underneath.

They are in 33 litre pots.

I have grown these plants from seeds.

I have slow release nutrients in the soil (very small amount).

At first i was watering them with miracle grow.

For the first 4 weeks i was having very good growth from the plants but during the 4th week i started to get new growth with yellow leaves and burnt brown edges.

I thought that this was the nutrients so started to flush them - watering only with water.

I also thought that this may have been due to heat as the cupboard was getting a bit hot, so i fixed the problem with the in take ventilation.

The new growth is now fine so i am not sure if this was a problem with the nutrients or the heat as i fixed both at the same time.

I am now at 5 weeks and i have just turned them to flower 3 days ago (i dont think they could handle getting too big especially in a cupboard)