problem grow

hi, as i have said in my few other posts i am very new to the indoor grow...also being from north qld, i was familiar with sativa type strains, and since moving to vic have had to get some bag seed and hope for the best.

the prob is, i have been growing these little sprouts for almost 3 weeks, and they are pretty squat in height, they are bushy but it seems they are stunted(like i said i am not sure, this could be typical of more indica strains...i have been searching and now i am thinking its not the case), i noticed the slow growth-then in the last couple of days this yellowing in the bottom leaves.

after looking at the nutrient prob forum in here thought that it may be phosphorous deficiency?

again not sure...the good old guys up in north qld arent into the online bit, so now i am lucky enuff to have you guys to offer advice.

i'm gonna try to attach pics, wish me luck.

the only other info i could provide is...they are in soil(as per fotos)a mix of worm castings, sand, ash(from wood heater)and plain dirt.

i have only been feeding them straight tank water, last nite i mixed up a half strength veg solution with superthrive...there was blood and bone in there also(i wasnt too concerned with the yellowing then-thought phosphorous def.) and was more interested in the lack of vertical growth.

the stems are sturdy enuff, the branches are very close.

have had them under a 400w hps since a week old, my timer shat itself so the 18/6 routine hasnt always been precise for instance - 20/4 or near to then.

there is little ventilation, i do have an exhaust fan(they're growing in the unused shower upstairs).

also a mate that had to go away in a hurry, left me a bunch of lights-amongst them a 600w hps to mh conversion lamp-sunmaster, and 3 1000w mh lamps-warm deluxe sun master.

the 1000w'ers i thought would be okay for flowering, but maybe the 600w may help these sprouts out now?dont know.

are the 1000w'ers overkill for only a couple of plants(maybe 4-6)?