Nutrient frequency question.

Hi everyone,

I've been a dirt farmer off and on for some thirty years. Finally this year I've decided to make the move to hydro. So far I've done some plants using wicks which worked quite well, and I have one plant running as a test using the Hempy bucket concept. In case anyone hasn't heard if it, it's the essence of hydro simplicity...a bucket with a hole drilled in the side 2" up. Fill it with whatever media you like...I'm using hydroton. And add nutrients daily till it flows out the hole. No aeration, no pumps. The roots go down into the 2" of solution and suck the solution up before it can go bad. Hempy has been using this system since the 80s and claims no root rot problem. My little test plant is doing well.

So here's my question...people determine the frequency of feedings for an ebb and flow by how much the pots dry out. If three times a day isn't enough...go to four. Well if you increase the number of floodings, isn't the plant also getting an increased amount of nutrients?

So technically shouldn't a person decrease nutrient strength if you have to feed 5 times a day and increase the nutrient strength if they are only flooding twice? So that the plants get access to the same amount of nutrient in any given day.

When that question occured to me, I realized that this is much more an art then it is a science unless I'm totally missing something obvious.

I need to be set straight on this issue...

DrDee

Edited by DrDee

Hi Cloner,

If the plants will only take up what they need, then how does overfert burn occur? It occurs because the plant takes in too much and toxifies ittself.

I understand that people don't change nute strenth on the basis of frequency of feeding. What I don't understand is why not?

Dee

Hi ppl,

That was sort of a poorly thought out question I posted so I'm not surprised that there wasn't much response. I'm new to hydro and some of it is still a major mystery to me.