Chopped eel as a fertiliser + more

Hey guys.

This is my first time here, and I wanted to ask something. My friend is a fisherman and he kills eels, chop them up and put it in the bottom of his pot because he says it fertilises his plants.

Would this be a source of nitrogen considering the fertiliser Blood and Bone, has nitrogen from "bone and flesh"? Just an interesting alternative that I would be keen to try as long as it didnt kill the plants.

Also, the plants are 3 weeks old and the stems are still kinda week and some of them still slightly bend over, is this a nutrient deficiency or what? The soil is crappy grade soil, mixed with Blood and Bone, and then some Miracle-Gro.

Thanks guys.

hey,

first up welcome to ozstoners.. i have a bit of knowledge on this but no where near as much as other members.. When using dead animals fish etc they need time to decompose and turn into benefical nutrients for the plants.. A old mate used to put dead wallabys and possums in his plot but i think it was like 3-4 months before planting and he still had to go water them.. also think he had some plastic lining in there to speed the process up.. sea weed needs to sit in water for a period too i think ... in regards to your youngings maybe stake them up somehow but be sure not to disturb the roots.. hope that helps some

fishermans pots must stink something chronic after bout 3 wks ... and it is a brilliant form of fertilizer, but maybe better composted by placing a few fish in a plastic rubbish bin add half bag of potting mix secure lid , place in sun for a month or more, add the other half-bag of soil, mix around and soon you have some mighty fine enriched soil for your pot plants ...

plants weak stemmed ... could this be cause they are not receiving enuf bright, direct sunlight and are stretching out for sunlight? :D

:D

Hi letchy.

cheap and works a dream do it yourself insect appellant white oil