INFESTED GROW ROOM!!

Hi allhailthebud,

I'm pretty new to everything too, i DO KNOW about SCARID FLY though!! or Fungus gnats the little bastards r also called. :P I had them for weeks!! But have got rid of them now.

As Ferenghi420 says the larvae eat the fungus in your medium and along with that, the roots of ur plants. This can then cause fungal disease and/or nutrient deficiencies!

Are u using Coco? Do u have the tops of ur pots covered with the reflective plastic up to the plant stem? This stops the algae growing in ur medium - it's the perfect environment - damp moist area - tons of nutrient & bacteria with great lighting!

This also stops more little flys laying eggs in the algae(which they love!)

A female can lay hundreds of eggs in an hour or something i read! So you've got to kill the whole lifecycle- the adults, larvae & eggs.

Hope i haven't scared you, just been thru it so i want to fill u in on everything that took me a little while 2 find out B)

I'd use "Confidor" uv probably heard of it, it's a yates garden pesticide spray. You'll get the flys with this when u see them or just spray the crop according to the instructions, every week thoroughly and whenever u see one flying.

I used an azardaractin drench or Aza-drench it is sometimes called which u pour thru the medium to kill the larvae (the most serious troublemakers) it's the main active ingredient in neem oil which Ferenghi mentioned. The drench is heaps more concentrated then the neem oil spray which u also use as well to spray the crop on an ongoing preventative or deterrant.

I hope this helps you out allhailthebud. Don't worry 2 much about them tho,

you will get rid of them, just remember they breed quick so it's the whole cycle uv got 2 get stuck in2

My girls are stronger than ever, and less than a fortnight ago i was stressing about them badly!! Just put out a vendetta on the fungus gnat & thoroughly set out to destroy them!! :P

Goodluck! Hope this helped some!