Im very new to all things growing and have been making a mission to learn as much as possible. One subject which intrigued me was the feminization of seeds and how its done.

Basically i read (and please correct me if any of my interpretation of the subject is unjust) that Rodelization is the process of allowing a female cannabis plant to mature, and keep the plant in flowering long after the other plants have been harvested, so that the female starts to produce pollen sacks,

...this is where i get lost as information articles refer to fertilizing a female plant ..... so do you use the pollen sacks to fertilize the SAME female plant you got the pollen from, or must you have another sinsemilia in flower that you fertilize?

I read that most growers do not favor their hermaphroditic marijuana plants because they can release some pollen, ruining an entire sinsemilia crop (including themselves) and the seeds that come from this pollination are considered totally worthless.....

but if this is correct, how can the first method of waiting for a female to produce pollen sacks work, as its bacially the same thing isnt it.....as its growing male reproductive parts, so it turns hermie? yet one method provides usable seeds, the other apparently worthless seeds. Or does the Rodelization plant have a very different genetic structure over a hermie?

Sometimes when you harvest you will get a few seeds particularly if you harvest a little late, that is Rodelization. Some strains are more inclined to start producing seeds this way than others and some require the breeder/grower to intentionally stress the plant. It's a way of producing feminised seeds, I think I read the dutch breeder Soma is credited as being the first to use this method.

Technically it is a form of hermaphroditism but generally you don't have to worry about it ruining your whole grow by seeding everything up, most of the time it's a case of finding a few innocuous seeds in an otherwise normal harvest.