Some trouble getting started (first time)

Hello,

This is my first attempt at seedlings, and I've been running into some trouble.

My first batch I started with was with 4 regular seed and 1 auto. The first thing I did was leave them in a glass of water for up to 18 hours, then once they sunk I drained them into moist paper towels and left them until they sprouted their taproot. After a few days, only the the auto made significant progress (about an inch long taproot) while the others were around half a cm or so. I moved all the seeds into a seedling tray with seedling soil mix, then left them in a dark, high humidity location.

After a few days, only the auto sprouted from the soil but the rest did not. But even so, the auto didn't look so healthy.. 

What I suspect is that maybe I did 1 or 2 thing; I feel maybe I kept the humid environments during both germination stages and sprouting stages either too wet, or too warm (and cooked them). During germination I had left the paper towels on a heating mat and without realizing it, the paper towels got completely dried out, and so I had to re apply water on a few occasions. I feel like maybe I drowned the seeds with so much of that water, or that I fried the germs inside with all that heat? Really. I do not know what went wrong.

So after this I made a second attempt. Again, another 5 seeds (1 auto, 4 regular). But I aimed this time to not spend so much time in germination as I was worried I would fuck it up again. So I only left in paper towel for a day or two, and with first signs of taproot on the seeds I put them in the soil.

After some days keeping the 5 seeds in soil in a dark humid place, only 1 seedling emerged. And this one seems to be growing strong. A second one has sprouted some days later, but doesn't look as strong and so I'm not sure if it will make it..