pH levels in soil. How many really check it?

Hi folks!!

As this year will be my first outdoor (like I've said in every other thread that I've started) and I'm genuinely curious as to how many people really keep tabs on their soil's pH...

I'm thinking about doing it but as this is my first time outside, I don't want to overwhelm myself too much. If the general consensus is yes, check it, then how do you know how much epsom salts etc do you use and how do you do it? Is it as simple as sprinkling on the topsoil and watering in? How long will it take to change the pH? How often should you test?

Sorry everyone but I don't have anywhere/anyone else to ask.

Cheers in advance.

T.T.

Edited by T!CTAC
  • Upvote 1

i never check PH 

but i am using a known quantity so to speak , a soil mix that has been tested many times 

although what i'm using will not be the same here as it would elsewhere in the world 

it will still be reasonably close , depending on the amendment quality i choose 

i believe with organics the plant & soil organisms drive PH in a living system & no need to micro manage

something that takes care of itself , if allowed to

• Upvote 2

Thanks for your replies mates.

@sunseeker : how do I apply it? I guess it would be on the box but I'm asking anyway lol.

Would I need to have pH neutral water to use because of my pH in the soil needed to be higher but the water was lower, wouldn't that potentially cancel the desired effect? Or am I just overthinking it?

Cheers mate.

sounds like over thinking , maybe 

have you made a soil mix or is this pre planning ?

what's your water source ?

What are you using to test PH ?

Hi there. I'm pre planning. I'll be using tap water and not sure yet what type of tester I'll use. Sorry I can't be more specific.

nuh that's good man , pre planning is a good thing 

tap water PH & a bunch of other info like what else they put in the water can be checked via whom ever runs the water supply in your state