Seedlings in light

Hey guys,

This is my first attempt at growing. I have a 1x1m hydro grow tent with 4 seedling currently under a 400w MH light. They've been under the light for about a week but haven't really change since. They are in rockwool which I have now planted into coco coir. They are currently on a 16/8 light cycle. The fan is also only running when the lights are on.

I have attached some pics.

Is it too early to start add nutes to these seedlings? At what point should I add nutes?

I read I should wait until I see first real leaves but what does that mean?

Any help will be appreciated.

Hey Newbud,

First off, Welcome to OS.

Placing freshly cracked seedlings under HID (High Intensity Discharge) ie MH or HPS lighting is a bit of overkill. Babies need to be nurtured, not beaten into submission lol

I start mine under a fluro light in a rockwool cube sitting in an esky. They stay under the fluro until the roots are covering the base of the 4inch x 4inch cube, then I transfer to pots.