browning off how long

I go the 3 brownings regularly, in fact every grow now. I've been doing a 3 browning for many years now, and NEVER take a plant at less than 12weeks minimum

???when the "hairs" go brown, reemerge white, go brown, reemerge white, then go brown for the third time...

That is it exactly Mata. After the 3rd browning of the hairs (or stigmas) I then check the trichome colour with a microscope, when the trichomes are a nice toffee brown, after 12weeks, I do the final flush. My longest was 16weeks of 12/12 or 5 brownings, but I did not see the benefit of 16week over a 13week in the smoke.

.... I have started giving this one straight water getting ready to pull ,hope I haven't started with the fresh water to soon

I'd have to say 'Sorry, but yes you have' IMHO

I have done this previously, flushed before the 3rd browning, and although I thought the natural process would continue, this was not the case. In my situation I had the 'normal' 8week browning, still feeding full strength nutes, then the 10 week browning. After which I started my flush. It took till 13 1/2 weeks for the 3rd to eventually turn brown, usually this occurs around the 11 1/2 week mark at which point I do the final flush. The smoke was real nice but it wasn't the 'normal' 3 browning smoke I like. It didn't have the full-on, full bodied flavour that I like. Also it was a little harsh, a bit chemically at the end of a cone. Upon speaking to others it seems once you start your flush the plant loses all of its resources to continue the plants processes, then continuing to grow the plant, it starts to 'cannibalize' itself using all of its own reserves.

Personally, if you've started your final flush and it's been more than 24hrs of flush, then take your harvest as normal. Once the final flush has taken place re nuteing it can take a couple of weeks to see any benefit as it takes a bit of time for the plant to reabsorb the nutes to a usable level again.

Merl1n

Edited by merl1n