Advice on Best Strains for Treating Depression Sought

LelordK

Question

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and somewhat new to cannabis (used recreationally and occassionally, many,  many years and not since then).

I have major depression (with anxiety) which was professionally diagnosed and has been treated with pretty much all of the SSRIs, SNRI, NRIs, MAO inhibiters and tricyclics--and in desperation some of the antipsychotics (even though I have no psychosis), lithium and ECT.  I am currently on desvenlafaxine and mirtazapine which I will continue taking even though it is providing only partial relief.  Two events have plunged me into a deep than usual melancholic depression that I am only beginning to recover from and return to my baseline after fours or so weeks:

--experimenting with opiates and opioids (the entire spectrum from codeine right through to heroin) a  month ago, which in retrospect was a stupid thing to do (for anyone with depression contemplating a similar move: don't do it, the opiates and opioids are not effective antidepressants, the crash which follows discontinuation is much more severe than the initial depression which motivated the use)

--a family tragedy: a close relative has a terminal disease and we are watching someeone near and dear to us slowly die

I really don't want to receive anymore ECT at this time: it does help depression but it comes at a cost of a temporary impairment of cognition which in my case lasted about 8 weeks last time.  I need to be present physically and at least to some extent emotionally to support my elderely mother which is taking the pending loss especially badly.  I'm barely keeping it all together by sedating myself with (prescribed) benzodiazipines.