Who uses a digital USB microscope? Thoughts? What software do you use?

Hi everyone.

Who else here owns a digital USB microscope? I just bought this one from Jaycar. It's OK, but the software which comes with it sucks: keeps causing my computer to hang and becomes unresponsive, and uses a lot of CPU.

The instructions are not too bad, but I'm trying to figure out how the magnification can be increased or decreased across the range from 10x to 300x (which is what the sales materials and box specify). It seems like you increase magnification by turning the dial on the side, and then you focus by moving the microscope closer to or further away from the object that you are imagine. Is this correct? I have never used a microscope before... lol

Also, what software do you use for viewing through the microscope and taking images? Mine came bundled with one called MicroCapture - Pro. The Photo Booth application on my Mac also does an OK job if I just want to have a quick look. Can we use other types of software to work with these microscopes (ie. webcam apps)?

Thanks all for your input.

P. S. A couple of my first shots of some bud I grew myself a few months ago. As you can see, the magnification allows a pretty good examination of the trichome heads (whatever they're called...), but it's damn hard to get a good focus. If anybody could help with pointers on how I can improve my imaging, I'd be very grateful.

post-51990-0-76119900-1396657001_thumb.jpg

This one's interesting because you can see how hairlike the trichomes appear to be before their heads fill up with lovely resin!

post-51990-0-96162400-1396657045_thumb.jpg

hey man i picked up a cheap Chinese no name model from eBay, produces the same quality as yours, and yes i had the same problem with the program so get this i use the same program small lightweight simple usb cam viewer very basic just lets you see and take snapshots.

post-40304-0-49328700-1396660556_thumb.jpg post-40304-0-91783400-1396660558_thumb.jpg