Help- 2 newbs have no idea

Hi I am a total newb to trying to grow the plant and had a nice (named variety) indoor pot-plant growing quite some time ago but due to house reno's sent it on holiday to a friends place (who is a total newb as well) where it lives outdoors.  Due to distance Ive only seen it once or twice since then.

A while back it was very healthy and starting to Flower  but slight signs of going dry around the edges of the leaves which I thought was due to the recent strong winds, later the drying was much worse so I gave them some potash after trying to diagnose the problem via cannaversity.

Its very worse for wear looking now but neither of us know when its ready to harvest to at least try it out.

Can someone tell us if its ready yet, not ready yet or gone too far?

(and any suggestions on the leaf damage would be appreciated too)

post-50277-0-87440700-1385686496_thumb.jpg

post-50277-0-80685600-1385686526_thumb.jpg

post-50277-0-57753200-1385686825_thumb.jpg

post-50277-0-22795200-1385686909_thumb.jpg

It is in pro-mix potting mix (contains water crystals and seasol) with general purpose osmocote added. The plant was feed on ozi- magic-"gro juice" about twice a week when I had the plant, it was transferred with 2 litres of mix but as far as I can suss it appears the other person was giving it fishtank water (fresh water not salt) and very rarely (perhaps almost never) giving the food as directed and it appeared to me that its growth slowed dramatically during that time. Eventually it started to flower at least 4 weeks ago maybe as long as 6? (I cant really remember when as I was only told about it) and I asked that they change the food to ozi-magic-"monsta bud" once they had told me about it starting to flower. I did see a few days later  and I left some mix for them but I am again suss they wernt feeding as requested although at that time it looked lovely and green and quite happy.