First Time Grow

Hi All,

I'm very new to all this and I was wondering if anyone has had any success planting into abandoned bush turkey nests? These things are easily 3 meters across and maybe 2-4 feet high. The composition of the soil is loose but heavily humus based & rich in composted organic matter, seems like it would be the perfect medium and also very easy to dig into. I would assume one plant per plot would suffice and also how far can pollen travel, I've found 5 plots and the closest between the two would be 2km?

Any feedback would be great.

If you disturb the nest they will return and make it higher probably covering the plants.

I would definitely use the compost from the nest for growing though as its 100% organic.

Find a nice spot that gets plenty of north facing sun and easy access to water. 

By the end of summer the weeds should grow around your plants and hide them as long as you don't have 100's clumped together.

The more grow spots you have the less likely to lose all of it to rippers.

I would also use some pegged chicken wire in a circle around the plant to keep the wildlife from eating your babies.

Fold the top of the wire in to stop roos from biting off the top it will eventually grow through itself. Also handy to stop big feet breaking the stem.

Some people say its not very stealthy but its better than losing a health plant.

2 weeks till spring so get cracking.

Cheers for the advice Goonie,

Seems I must’ve jumped the gun and gone and disturbed two nests this afternoon, I’m pretty sure the birds are long gone, I haven’t spotted any in the area for 3 years. No new leaf litter either, just pure mounds of prime compost. As i was digging the second hole i came across a huge yam thicker than my arm, may have to raid some of this compost for the taters back home. I hope this is a good sign of what is to come.