oxyplus vs dm guardian vs microbial vs pythoff

ok im just trying to confirm what is the best product in peoples experience to

1. prevent pythium and scarid fly

i have been using microbial for about 4 months and have gone through heaps of it. its expensive at $130 for 5 lts. i found it helped with the pythium and killed the infestation of scarid i had in one crop. but didnt stop the bastards coming back in the next one!

so i was thinking about trying oxyplus (about $80 for 5lts). i thought it would give me the double impact of a system steriliser and oxygenation. not sure if it prevents scarid fly though?

tom said use dm guardian which i can get for $50 for 5lts. so that seems best bang for my buck. i also like that its systemic.

the other alternaive is pythoff. about same price as oxyplus. not sure if pythoff works against the fly larvae though?

im more concerned about performance than value for money. but i tend to go through the stuff with 600 litres of reservoirs to keep topping up!

whats the consensus?

thanks

Edited by keepleft

The consensus is that if you don't use something very soon the fungus gnats will be the cause of your having to replace all your plants, the problem at the moment is not what the best treatment available is but what your hydro store has on the shelf to deal with them.

If you have a Bunnings nearby they will be open today so you can get some Maverick, if not head down the hydro shop tomorrow morning and get whatever they recommend and use it the way they say to.

:blink: